being genuinely happy for others

I had an interesting conversation with a friend today. He thinks that a lot of people aren’t genuinely happy for other people’s success. For example, when someone does well in school and you do bad in the same class, when people get big raises and bonuses, when people find love in their relationships. For him, he wasn’t happy when he didn’t do well in school and others did.

I had to argue with him on this topic because I didn’t agree completely. For me, sometimes hearing other people’s success would self-motivate me to try harder to also get a bigger raise or better grade. My reasoning was that people aren’t happy when they start to compare with each other, so I thought if we all did well, then we didn’t have to compare and could enjoy together. But then I thought about it some more and started to agree. I got competitive in school and work, and I wasn’t happy when felt like I wasn’t rightly compensated. So naturally when your friends do better, you will get jealous. You probably feel like you should do better than others because you’re special.

sd beach house pic 50

So that led to us thinking, our friends success is our own success. Why shouldn’t we be happy for each other. We forget that friends will rub off on each other. If your friends are happy, they will naturally be happy around you and in turn make you more happy. If they’re sad and bothered by things, then naturally they will be more unhappy around you and that will tend to make you more unhappy.

I hope that can help you be more genuninely happy for others. Because in the end you’re just being happy for yourself! =)

~ by toekneelc on December 7, 2006.

One Response to “being genuinely happy for others”

  1. “Thousands of candles can be lighted from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared.” – Buddha

Leave a Reply

 
