its all about the journey…not the destination

I finished reading the book, Raising the Bar, the story about the owner of clif bar and what he did to make it successful without selling the company or take funding. Its a really good book and it made me want to work for his company. Anyway, a lot of the personal stories that he brings up are the ones that he has learned from and uses to guide him with his business strategy. Most of his stories are about his bicycling/rock climbing journeys in Europe. He went with about $400 and travelled everywhere on foot or bike for about 2 weeks. To him, its all about finding the small roads, seeing the country side, meeting the people. The trip was about the journey and not the destination.

I know that about a year ago, I didn’t completely have this outlook. To me, it was all about the shortcuts. How do I get an A in school with the minimum effort? How much can I afford to slack off? What was the fastest way up the corporate ladder? For that, I sometimes had to sacrifice time to pursue these goals. I had to sacrifice spending time with friends, sacrifice on going out to meet new people. And you know what? All that work didn’t make me happy (well its not like I was unhappy), but that’s not what brings me happiness. Sure, I will still look for the easy way out, but I will also make sure that I focus my time on the things that make me happy first.

I think people really need to figure out what makes them happy. If getting that job title or making 6 figures really makes you happy, then by all means spend the next 5-10 years making that happen. If you know instead that money/career isn’t what makes you happy (like me), then figure it out so you can start enjoying it. For me its about spending time with the friends that I care about, spending time with my family when I get a chance. I will always try to put those as my first priorities when possible.

When I look back on my life, I want to reflect back and see why my life was so “colorful”. It shouldn’t be just about my accomplishments or the goals that I reached, but also on how I got there and what made getting there so great.

~ by toekneelc on December 20, 2006.

One Response to “its all about the journey…not the destination”

  1. This is very nice and informative post. I have bookmarked your site in order to find out your post in the future.

Leave a Reply

 
