what’s wrong with our world?

I had the pleasure of seeing the Dalai Lama lecture at the Bill Graham Civic Auditorium when he came to visit SF a week ago. Although his English wasn’t that great, he had a great sense of humor. I could tell that he is a very humble and kind person by the way he interacted with the audience. His message touched on general points from his book “The Art of Happiness”.

One of the questions asked last week was: how can we stop all the violence and destruction that is going on in the world today?

He mentioned that (I’m paraphrasing)

…it starts small. It starts with believing that human by nature is good. And little by little if you can start by fixing yourself first, then slowly expand out to helping your family and friends, to helping your community, eventually the world will change.

Now why did I think this was important? Well lately I have been seeing a lot of messages on saving Darfur and other mass genocides that are going on in the world. It’s a sad thing to see, but I didn’t find any interest or yearning to help spread the awareness or fight the cause. It seems that genocides have been happening since the beginning of time. So to me, maybe I feel helpless in knowing that things like this will occur and reoccur over and over again. Spreading awareness on the issue and protesting alone will not fix the root problem. That’s when I started thinking about the Dalai Lama’s message and how it aligns more with who I am as a person. I have never been ambitious enough to want to change the world or make an impact to the world as a whole. I always wanted to make an impact on a smaller scale. If everyone was nicer, more generous, or made an impact to a just a few people in their lives (think of the movie Pay It Forward) then why wouldn’t the world be a better place? Maybe its just wishful thinking on my part, but that’s what I would like to strive for.

If anyone wants to borrow the book “The Art of Happiness”, let me know. The main message is

  1. The purpose of life is happiness.
  2. Happiness is determined more by the state of one’s mind than by one’s external conditions, circumstances, or events – at least once one’s basic survival needs are met.
  3. Happiness can be achieved through the systematic training of our hearts and minds, through reshaping our attitudes and outlook.
  4. The key to happiness is in our own hands.

 

 

~ by toekneelc on May 5, 2007.

One Response to “what’s wrong with our world?”

  1. btw, i have your copy.

Leave a Reply

 
