fight or flight? what does your body say?

I was doing a typical 3 mile run today, when I approached one of the corners that I always turn at.  As I approached the corner I saw 2 elderly people slow down their walking pace as they reached a stop at the corner.  As I began my right turn around the corner, I saw a 2 year-old girl, and then within a split second she yelled out a enthusiastic “BOO” as she was chasing down her grandparents.  My first reaction was a quick jump to the left and then felt my heart go into relief.

My first thought after that was why did I tense up?  What about surprises makes me jump and go into alert mode.  Then I thought about what some of my friends would do.  And it seems a lot of guys would get ready to fight or punch someone or something.  So then I started thinking, why are people so paranoid?

I wonder what life would be like if we didn’t train our bodies to respond to danger so much.  If I saw something coming, I can move out of the way and react to it, but its funny how even the voice from a little girl got me all jumpy.   I surely would not want to punch her.

~ by toekneelc on September 29, 2008.

2 Responses to “fight or flight? what does your body say?”

  1. Don’t lie, you love to punch girls.

  2. you got scared and jumped last time i said boo too!! hahahah

    and yeah, you abuse me all the time 😦

Leave a Reply

 
